Request a Proposal
Compliance Council Location

What are the WHSMS and Auditing Guidelines (5th Edition)?

The Work Health and Safety Management Systems and Auditing Guidelines (Edition 5) was developed with the goal of enabling NSW agencies which undertake construction work and infrastructure projects to work with the construction industry so as to improve safety outcomes for all construction industry participants, and facilitate a consistent minimum standard across all NSW government construction projects that must be met. Construction companies wishing to tender for construction work valued above $1 million or more must comply with these guidelines. 


I'm already certified to AS/NZS 4801 or ISO 45001, do I need to do anything else?

Yes, existing health and safety certification will help as it means that you will meet some of the Edition 5 criteria already but there are still a number of specific requirements that are unique to Edition 5 that you will need to meet. 


Is Edition 5 compliance the only item required to achieve prequalification for projects valued over $1 million?

With NSW Government, the requirement is that you already have achieved third party certification to ISO 9001 through a JAS-ANZ accredited certification body. 


Can I buy an Edition 5 compliant template?

Yes, our related company named ISO Templates sells an Edition 5 compliant Work Health and Safety Management System.


Who can complete the Edition 5 Accreditation Assessment?

Compliance Council employs Exemplar Global (formerly RAB-QSA) certified Lead Auditors for OHS who can complete the assessment and provide you with a report using the NSW Government template and accompanying certificate. Reach out to our consultants via 1800 771 275, or via the contact form on our website. 

Executive Team

Matthew Allport
Matthew Allport
Jason O’Grady
Jason O’Grady
General Manager

compliance-council-contact-icon Have a question? Contact Compliance Council on 1800 771 275 or enquire online